Plastic Free July (argh, it’s everywhere!)

 

Week 1 plastic fails (although check out the coriander growing in the back, putting the parsley on the left to shame)

I sauntered into Plastic Free July thinking “It’ll be so easy this year. I’ve had way more practice, and I’m totally prepared for this.” Ha! is what I have to say to me on that; plastic is everywhere and it’s been pursuing me relentlessly like a mosquito on a summer evening.

The picture at the top is the plastic I’ve accidentally acquired this week, and it’ll be living in my hallway until the end of the month when I can survey the shame all together. So, here we go:

1. Little pot of sauce: It’s Friday night, it’s 11pm and we’ve stopped rushing about like lunatics for the first time that day. Pizza, delivered to us in a friendly cardboard box was surely the answer. And it was glorious. But then there it was, hiding away in the corner – the tiny plastic pot of garlic dip. Argh.

2. Weird little plastic security sticker on some sunscreen. I don’t feel as bad on this one because a. Sunscreen is important, and as someone who got burned in April sitting outside for 30 mins, this is not an optional product in the current weather, and b. It came in a metal can, so was much less plastic-y than usual (Superdrug own brand, if you’re looking).

3. Plastic cup: I was at a beekeeping class on Sunday (who isn’t?!) and there was a little party afterwards. Before I even realised it, there was a plastic cup of juice in my hand! I consoled myself that when I get to the point I can have my own bees, their benefit to the environment should outweigh the single cup, but what a rookie mistake…

4. Little plastic sticker from a saucepan lid. This one I think is actually allowed, as it was on a saucepan that I saved from the tip, as a friend was going to throw it away. That’s ok right?

5. This one annoyed me the most – a plastic bag and bubble wrap from the metal water bottle I ordered. I’ve been carrying round a glass bottle for a while, but every time I drop my bag on the floor and hear a slightly sickening crack, I have vowed to get something designed to last. I treated myself to a metal bottle, which arrived today… wrapped in plastic and surrounded by bubble wrap! Why not wrap it in newspaper and send it in a paper envelope? Especially as the website was very much of the eco-vibe. Hmmph. Will find a use for the bubble wrap, but am still sulking about it.

Happy plastic free find of the week is the lovely Parkway Greens in Camden, which apparently is also the grocer of choice for Yotam Ottolenghi, no less. If you want more than your standard greengrocer fare, this is the place to go – loads of strange mushrooms, kumquats, herbs and greens of every description, flat nectarines (like flat peaches, but less fuzzy), as well as all your usual stuff. I picked up a few things today, but will definitely be back.

 

Parkway Greens, suppliers of lovely things

So, so far, bit plastic-y. Must try harder. I’ve been told that Planet Organic in Muswell Hill has a special unpackaged section (more info here), so am very excited to go check them out soon.

Hope you’re all having a lovely plastic free (or at least plastic reduced!) July too.

You can still join in if you haven’t! Go to http://www.plasticfreejuly.org for more info.

7 thoughts on “Plastic Free July (argh, it’s everywhere!)

  1. Great start, I’d say! And hoorah for learning about beekeeping. I’d love to keep bees but there’s no way I could commit at the moment. The Green Bean Challenge this month is all about the bee and I have expert bean posts on the blog where I invite experts to guest post on the topic. I’d love to have you over on the blog if you were interested šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I would LOVE to write a guest post on bees! I have had such an amazing time learning about them hands-on in two very different locations over the past year, and I’d love to share some of the things I’ve learned. Thank you šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Fab! That’s great news. The theme runs until the end of the month and if you would like to write something that would be brilliant, it doesn’t have to be long and if you have any photos of your beekeeping journey that would be great too. Please E-mail it to info@dsnelson.co.uk and I’ll get it posted šŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Thank you and thank you! I think the fact that it’s so hard even when you’re trying SO hard shows there is something systematically wrong – it shouldn’t be so tricky to opt out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

